where the writers are

women's fiction | women's fiction

linda-clare's picture
Sep.14.2009
All her life Muri Pond dreamed of finding the father who left her when she was three years old.  Now it’s too late. Joe Pond has died, willing his remote Central Oregon high desert property to his citified daughter, a librarian who’d rather research than ranch. When legally-separated Muri Pond...
cynn-chadwick's picture
Sep.13.2009
Tragedy-and her brother's midnight plea for help with his young twins-pulls Cat Hood back home to Galway, North Carolina, in the third book in the popular Cat Rising trilogy. After five years in Scotland, the place where she'd expected to find both roots and family, Cat is still single (...
mia-king's picture
Jul.29.2009
The star of Mia King's "entertaining" (Seattle Times) debut novel Good Things is back, and she's got a full plate. Deidre McIntosh is everyone's favorite go-to person. She seems so successful, so capable, so just plain perfect, with a popular cooking show, her own line of cakes and...
lisa-patton's picture
Jul.17.2009
Southern belle Leelee Satterfield leaves her beloved Memphis to follow her husband’s pipe dream: to manage a quaint Vermont inn. But when they arrive, young daughters and ancient Yorkie in tow, they discover pretty fast that there’s a truckload of things nobody tells you about Vermont until you...
lisa-jensen's picture
Jul.03.2009
    A swashbuckler set in the West Indies of the early 19th Century DIE HEIMLICHE PIRATIN is a love story, a coming-of-age adventure and an eccentric comedy of manners about a woman who runs with the pirates to free herself from the conventional "rules" of gender, race and class. Tory...
lise-mcclendon's picture
Jun.30.2009
The sudden death of her husband turns Merle Bennett's life upside down. Her work for poor legal clients isn't going to pay the bills and her son is kicked out of school. The blows just keep on coming. Merle finds herself doing what she least expected, decamping to France for the summer to fix up...
christa-b-allan's picture
Jun.30.2009
Already sloshed from one-too-many drinks at a faculty party, Leah Thornton cruises the supermarket aisles in search of something tasty to enhance her Starbucks—Kahlua, for example. Two confrontations later—one at the grocery store and the other with her friend Molly—Leah is sitting in the office of...
lisa-jensen's picture
Jun.30.2009
A swashbuckler set in the West Indies of the early 19th Century THE WITCH FROM THE SEA is a love story, a coming-of-age adventure and an eccentric comedy of manners about a woman who runs with the pirates to free herself from the conventional "rules" of gender, race and class. Tory Lightfoot, an...
candace-bushnell's picture
Jun.23.2009
From Publishers Weekly Sex in the City goes middle-aged, mordant and slapstick in Bushnell's chronicle of writers, actors and Wall Street whizzes clashing at One Fifth Avenue, a Greenwich Village art deco jewel crammed with regal rich, tarty upstarts and misguided lovers. When a Queen of Society...
kathryn-magendie's picture
Jun.09.2009
TENDER GRACES Kathryn Magendie Trade paperback, April 2009, Bell Bridge Books Contemporary Women's Fiction, Southern A gentle yet unflinching look at how we find our way home. A woman returns to her West Virginia roots to resolve the ghosts of her childhood. In the tradition of Rebecca Wells, Sue...