where the writers are

Susan Henderson's Books

UPfromtheBLUE.jpg
Oct.04.2010
Up from the Blue is the story of a 1970s bi-polar housewife who goes missing and her daughter who won’t give up the search for her. It's a dark story in the vein of The Lovely Bones or To Kill a Mockingbird in which adult problems are seen through a child's eyes. Eight-year-old Tillie Harris, a biter and the kind of kid who will stick her tongue through the slats of a fan, takes...
Not Quite What I Was Planning: Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous and Obscure
Feb.05.2008
Deceptively simple and surprisingly addictive, Not Quite What I Was Planning is a thousand glimpses of humanity—six words at a time. One Life. Six Words. What's Yours? When Hemingway famously wrote, "For Sale: baby shoes, never worn," he proved that an entire story can be told using a half dozen words. When the online storytelling magazine SMITH asked readers to submit six-word...