where the writers are
The Shogun's Scroll
The Shogun's Scroll
$14.95
Hardcover
See Book Details »

BOOK DETAILS

  • Hardcover
  • Feb.13.2012
  • 9784805311967

Stephen gives an overview of the book:

In the tradition of The Art of War and The Book of Five Rings, Stephen Kaufman's The Shogun's Scroll offers timeless advice on success in war and life. Written in the voice of Hidetomo Nakadai, a late twelfth century scholar and servant in the court of Minamoto Yoritomo—the first shogun of Japan and one of the world's most ruthless generals—this treatise can be used as a guide for personal development and motivation.
Read full overview »

In the tradition of The Art of War and The Book of Five Rings, Stephen Kaufman's The Shogun's Scroll offers timeless advice on success in war and life. Written in the voice of Hidetomo Nakadai, a late twelfth century scholar and servant in the court of Minamoto Yoritomo—the first shogun of Japan and one of the world's most ruthless generals—this treatise can be used as a guide for personal development and motivation.

Read an excerpt »

If you can maintain harmony between all of the people, you will be seen as a man of rare wisdom. You will be obeyed and respected by all in you domain. If you favor a particular group, they will eventually seek to overthrow you because of your overly relying on them. Nobles must always see you as ruling on their behalf to increase their fortunes. The common people must always see you ruling in their favor by making their lives easier. If people, irrespective of their rank in life think they are happy, they are.

SFKaufman's picture

Books ordered from www.hanshi.com will be personally autographed. You may find this book listed with a slightly different subtitle at major book retailers. Be rest assured that they are one and the same book.

About Stephen

I am an acknowledged master speaker and educator and a teacher of ancient wisdom made practical for contemporary global society who entertains and educates audiences and groups by presenting the notions of what the ancient masters meant. Book titles include Musashi's Book...

Read full bio »

Published Reviews

Aug.28.2008

SONSHI.COM: You are the author of two interpretative books, "The Book of Five Rings" and "The Art of War". We are fascinated by them because they are from a true warrior's point of view - a refreshing...

Jan.15.2011

Steve Kaufman, a karate expert living in New York City, has produced a responsible translation of Miyamoto Musashi’s classic. Although there is little in terms of historical context and background, Kaufman...