where the writers are

Mona Hartzell's Biography

Member Info

Surry, on the Blue Hill Peninsula, Maine
Husband Robert Edward Hartzell, age 61, married April 24, 1999 Daughter Melanie, age 29, Mother of Lily Elizabeth Buckingham, age 18 months Daughter Whitney Anne, age 27, Mother of Caleb 5 & new baby due on November 5,2010 Daughter Jessica Monda, age 26, law student Daughter Bailey Elizabeth, age 23, Mother of Layla Rain DiDomenico, 16 months Son Matthew Robert, age 23, newspaper columnist and author
Feb 2010

I am from Fairfield County, Connecticut. I am a Nurse, who began writing as a kid, and upon my father informing me that I'd best get some education that would help me, should 'anything happen to your husband'; I entered nursing school, but followed my dream of becoming a writer throughout college, and, as I became older and more medically educated, I entwined as many journalism, creative writing and writing courses into my studies at whichever school I was attending. Ironically, I began writing professionally while working in medical research at Genentech in South San Francisco, Ca.                                                                                                                                                                                                                    I am married for the third time (and am known as the family's serial marrier or divorcee, it's essentially open season following the third walk down the proverbial aisle, or up the court house steps, as it were) to a writer, a man far more talented than am I; although he writes primarily web content at this time. Between us, we have five children, from three different marriages.  Although, as we ended up with custody of all of them, we tried our best to raise them as one family. I dare say that when they happen to all be speaking to one another, and even when they aren't, they do think of themselves as sisters and brothers, I've not heard any muttering about half or step anything. They certainly fight as though they are full bred sibs, rivalry intact. With our kids, we all managed to live through our own personal hormone hell as we once called it. Four of our kids are girls, and the last, poor guy, is a boy.                                                                                                                               He, too is a writer, man is he talented and wow does he ever do it justice.  He nurtures his talent as I was never able to permit myself to, then to, it was more than likely his only survival mechanism, just as it has been for me over the years. We've had our ups and downs, but he is in all probability my greatest achievement.                                                                                              Now, three of our children have children of their own, we have an almost 5 year old grandson, two granddaughters, born about two months apart and now almost a year old, and another whose arrival we anticipate in late October, 2010. Once they start, well, they start.                                                                                                                                                                                      Our third daughter has chosen to raise cain in a court room, and is currently a law student in San Francisco.                              My kids and I spent many years living in the San Francisco Bay Area,  partially because my husband is a born and bred Californian. I was exposed to California politics on some level or another at all times it seemed, thanks to his political family, as well as his then former career in campaign politics.                                                                                                                                         I am the oldest of four kids, 2 boys in the middle, my sister and I are the bookends. She lives in Southern California, where she lives with the sun, and with her husband and two sons. My brothers are both successful in their own right, and I am what I am.                                                                                                                                                                                                                         My husband and I now live in Northern Maine, we've been here for three years or so, and we love it. Our kids are even farther away than they were when we were in CA and they were all (but one) in CT.  But, as before they seem to find their way to us. We live 88 miles from the border of French Speaking Canada, Nova Scotia, Bay of Fundi, good places, and just down the pike from Acadia National Park on Mount Desert Isle and Bar Harbor. It all poses as a grand salty muse for me, I truly have found the place to embed myself and finish whatever writing it is that I must finish.                                                              I (like to think that) I am in the final process of a book regarding my very unfunny childhood. But that is almost through the filast of my edits, and whatever will happen next is an exciting thought, and will prove to be a true show of my commitment.                                                                                                                                                                                                                            After which time I plan to begin writing from my funnybone, (I actually have already jumped the gun just a bit) the place where I have learned that I am most comfortable, where I choose primarily to live with my perspective, and that I favor most always, the place where I hope to remain for the rest of my life.

Recommended Links

Interests & Hobbies

I design and make quilts and counted cross stitch panels and pictures. I read, voraciously. I write, more voraciously. I garden. On occasion, I volunteer with children @ preschool age with disabilities,through my grandsons preschool. I am formerly the President of the Board of Directors of Daytop America, San Mateo Chapter, and volunteer with people who suffer from substance abuse. I was present when the gene research team discovered the Substance Abuse Gene, thereby formally making it a disease carried in our DNA just as is Diabetes, or hair color. It is now a formal medical diagnosis. I am a member of the Multiple Schlerosis Society of America.