where the writers are

Maya Angelou's Books

I Shall Not Be Moved: Poems
In her first book of poetry since Why Don't You Sing? Maya Angelou, bestselling author of the classic autobiography I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings, writes with lyric, passionate intensity that reaches out to touch the heart and mind. This memorable collection of poems exhibits Maya Angelou's unique gift for capturing the triumph and pain of being black and every man and woman's...
The Heart of a Woman continues Dr. Angelou’s autobiographical work begun in I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings, exploring her beginnings as a writer and civil rights activist.
Maya Angelou: Poems
Tenderly, joyously, sometimes in sadness, sometimes in pain, Maya Angelou writes from the heart and celebrates life as only she has discovered it. In this moving volume of poetry, we hear the multifaceted voice of one of the most powerful and vibrant writers of our time.
Phenomenal Woman: Four Poems Celebrating Women
Maya Angelou, the bestselling author of Wouldn’t Take Nothing for My Journey Now and other lavishly praised works, is considered one of America’s finest poets. Here, four of her most highly acclaimed poems are assembled in a beautiful gift edition that provides a feast for the eyes as well as the heart.
The Complete Collected Poems of Maya Angelou
Here is the complete collection of Maya Angelou's published poems-including “On the Pulse of Morning”—in a permanent collectible, handsome hardcover edition.
My Painted House, My Friendly Chicken and Me
“Hello, Stranger-Friend” begins Maya Angelou's story about Thandi, a South African Ndebele girl, her mischievous brother, her beloved chicken, and the astonishing mural art produced by the women of her tribe. With never-before-seen photographs of the very private Ndebele women and their paintings, this unique book shows the passing of traditions from parent to child and introduces...
Wouldn't Take Nothing for My Journey Now
Angelou (I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings) is leery of people who give up too easily, whiners, complainers, men seeking an “earth mother” and vulgar entertainers. In this collection of short essays, many only two to three pages in length, she discusses the value of charity and her faith in God. She rages with eloquence at the deaths of loved ones, and shares her thoughts on...
Life Doesn't Frighten Me
Maya Angelou’s brave, defiant poem celebrates the courage within each of us, young and old. From the scary thought of panthers in the park to the unsettling scene of a new classroom, fearsome images are summoned and dispelled by the power of faith in ourselves. Angelou’s strong words are matched by the daring vision of artist Jean-Michel Basquiat, whose childlike style reveals the...
Dr. Angelou’s first autobiographical volume recounts her difficult youth from Arkansas to St. Louis to California. Filled with disappointment and tragedy, Angelou emerges from a remarkable struggle with a hard-fought independence and triumphant spirit intact.
Singin' and Swingin' and Gettin' Merry like Christmas
Here Maya Angelou, dazzling entertainer, casts the spotlight on her show business career—a pageant of international scope. Maya, the woman, shares her sad, failed marriage to a white man, her early motherhood and achingly sensitive relationship with her young son, and her bone-deep, painful suspicion of the white world that welcomes her talent so dramatically.
Gather Together in My Name
This second book from Angelou’s autobiographical series follows I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings. With gripping poignancy, wisdom, and a fierce passion (dosed with a dash of humor) she tells the story of her life as a young black woman in 1940s America, beginning with her teen years.