where the writers are

M. Allen Cunningham's Biography

Member Info

Feb 2008

M Allen Cunningham's debut novel The Green Age of Asher Witherow, set in 19th-century Northern California, was shortlisted for the 2005 Booksense Book of the Year Award alongside Marilynne Robinson's Gilead and Philip Roth's The Plot Against America. The Salt Lake Tribune named The Green Age one of six "Best Books of the West" in 2004. Lost Son, Cunningham's second novel, is a fantasia on the life and work of Rainer Maria Rilke, and was named one of the Top Ten Books of 2007 by The Oregonian. Cunningham's numerous short stories have appeared in The Kenyon Review, Glimmer Train, Alaska Quarterly Review and other distinguished literary magazines, and have been featured in live performance by the New Short Fiction Series of Beverly Hills. The recipient of a Yaddo residency and an Artist Fellowship from the Oregon Arts Commission, Cunningham lives in Portland, OR.


Judy Heiblum
Sterling Lord Literistic

Recommended Links


Unbridled Books