where the writers are
Among Women
Among Women
$9.95
Paperback
See Book Details »

BOOK DETAILS

  • Paperback
  • Mar.08.2011
  • 9781461031345

JM gives an overview of the book:

Pearl Caldwell wakes up in New Orleans, anxious to see the final days of the World's Fair, when she finds her companion, J.D. Bath, has taken everything, including her credit cards and money. She is stranded. Six weeks later, Pearl is in the French Quarter celebrating her job with her friends when two officers approach and take her to jail. She is being charged with prostitution and procuring, having been mistaken for a notorious madam. And the fun is just beginning. Thrown in among women of different classes and backgrounds, she feels scared and alone. To survive, she must learn to trust murderers, prostitutes, thieves, vagrants, the mentally ill and child abusers. To make matters worse, one of the women is determined to make sure that Pearl never sees the light of day again. Cover art by Aubrey Boneau & Michael Reighn.
Read full overview »

Pearl Caldwell wakes up in New Orleans, anxious to see the final days of the World's Fair, when she finds her companion, J.D. Bath, has taken everything, including her credit cards and money. She is stranded.

Six weeks later, Pearl is in the French Quarter celebrating her job with her friends when two officers approach and take her to jail. She is being charged with prostitution and procuring, having been mistaken for a notorious madam. And the fun is just beginning.

Thrown in among women of different classes and backgrounds, she feels scared and alone. To survive, she must learn to trust murderers, prostitutes, thieves, vagrants, the mentally ill and child abusers. To make matters worse, one of the women is determined to make sure that Pearl never sees the light of day again.

Cover art by Aubrey Boneau & Michael Reighn.

Read an excerpt »

 

jm-cornwell's picture

For a book that began with twelve chapters and was less than 40,000 words, AMONG WOMEN has turned out to be the biggest challenge and the most satisfying book I've written to date.

About JM

Although chronologically middle-aged, I still feel like a youth except on those mornings when time, temperature and joints more used to sitting and typing than running, walking or just moving remind me I have been around a while; then I'm about 432. 

At the foot...

Read full bio »

Author's Publishing Notes

"With AMONG WOMEN, J. M. Cornwell has fashioned an emotionally bracing tale of love, loss, and redemption. Here is a book of rare depth in both character and story, tragic and uplifting at the same time in the tradition of Alice Walker, Terry McMillan and Judith Guest. Certain to stay with you long after you've turned the last page and just as certain to leave you eagerly awaiting the talented Cornwell's next effort." --Jon Land, bestselling author of STRONG AT THE BREAK and BETRAYAL