where the writers are

Published Reviews

On sale July 17!
Publishers Weekly reviews
This charming first novel maps the landscape and lives of a small town where ghosts and the living are sometimes indistinguishable from one another. That's what...
Read More »
A Journey into Michelangelo's Rome
The Lutheran reviews
It was March 2001 when the young graduate from St. Olaf College, Northfield, Minn., walked into the Sistine Chapel in Rome. “I was completely overwhelmed by the...
Read More »
Huntress_Cover1.jpg
FanBoyWonder reviews
...we wish to spotlight what we see as a promising new five-issue mini-series from DC Comics that’s hitting stores Wednesday—The Huntress: Year One. Here’s the...
Read More »
Huntress_2.jpg
FanBoyWonder reviews
The Upshot From DC Comics: Helena Bertinelli's vow never to return to Gotham is tested by her vigilante fight to reclaim her inheritance from the Sicilian...
Read More »
Send Yourself Roses: Thoughts on My Life, Love, and Leading Roles
Amazon.com reviews
"This book is a must-read for those in the acting profession; one of the most intriguing parts of her memoir is finding out how she finds a character and her own...
Read More »
Send Yourself Roses: Thoughts on My Life, Love, and Leading Roles
Women & Hollywood Blog reviews
"Send Yourself Roses is an easy and interesting read, there are some great tidbits from her film career, but more importantly, Turner takes issue with the culture...
Read More »
Send Yourself Roses: Thoughts on My Life, Love, and Leading Roles
About.com - Women's Issues reviews
You can just tell from the roles she's chosen throughout her career that actress Kathleen Turner isn't in it for the glamour. For her, it's about the work. Yet as...
Read More »
Provocaciones, Letters from the Prettiest Girl in Arvin
Tucson Weekly reviews
The "prettiest girl in Arvin," from the title of Rafaela's G. Castro's collection of personal essays, was sometimes called "Pablito" or "muchachito"--little Pablo...
Read More »
Dirty Words: A Literary Encyclopedia of Sex
Nylon Magazine reviews
Bookmark: DIRTY WORDS: A LITERARY ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SEX Shit. Piss. Fuck. Cunt. Cocksucker. Motherfucker. Tits. These were the seven obscenities which were the...
Read More »
Seabird (cover)
Amazon reviews
Narenta--the New Narnia, May 27, 2008 By Catherine Hassan The Pevensie children are no longer the only ones being pulled away from their lives on Earth in order...
Read More »
The Peep Diaries: How We're Learning to Love Watching Ourselves and Our Neighbors
The Daily Loaf reviews
It’s strange not only what we share but how compulsive we have become about sharing. And it goes beyond sharing. In person, we can be private, almost secretive....
Read More »
9780452296169_RudeAwakeningsofaJaneAustenAddict.jpg
Publisher's Weekly reviews
"clever, funny story...with excitement, suspense, and delightfully good humor."
Read More »
The Witch's Beast Cover
Book Wenches reviews
This twisted turn on the classic story of Beauty and the Beast finds the tale from the witch’s point of view. The Witch, Saraphina, has been angered by Prince Amir...
Read More »
Christian Science Monitor reviews
Jeffrey Zaslow knew he had stumbled on a hot topic when he wrote a column about women’s friendships for The Wall Street Journal. Almost immediately, hundreds of e-...
Read More »
A Tale of Three Cities
AT THE HOME PLATE reviews
On the occasion of the release of Steven Travers' new book, “A Tale of Three Cities: The 1962 Baseball Season in New York, Los Angeles, and San Francisco,” At Home...
Read More »
Cover
David Bellavia reviews
"Anthony's painful account of his time at war is at times difficult to read. This coming of age war memoir details the very gut wrenching journey he takes into...
Read More »
Cover
Front page of book reviews
"From traumatic injuries to anthrax shots, Michael Anthony has captured in intricate detail life in a combat zone operating room. As someone who's done two tours...
Read More »
Cover
Front page of book reviews
"Michael Anthony writes in the tradition of Joseph Heller and Richard Hooker, demystifying the theater of war and revealing our soldiers to be all-too-human...
Read More »
Cover USA.jpg
Examiner.com reviews
Remember Michael Crichton's The Terminal Man? A bit of mind-bending science mixed with some seriously intense scenes of blood and guts and horror? It worked like a...
Read More »
TIDhc.jpg
New York Times reviews
The individuals in Laura Glen Louis's ''Talking in the Dark'' may be Chinese-Americans new to the West Coast, but more than anything else they are characters for...
Read More »