where the writers are

Published Reviews

Heavier Than Air
NYT, SF Chronicle, BOOKLIST, LAMBDA reviews
"Set mostly in rural Minnesota, this debut collection's stories are aching, spare studies of survival and desire. . . . Several of the central characters are girls...
Read More »
ButAPassageInWilderness-cov.jpg
Amazon.com reviews
Witnessing, April 23, 2008 By Akilah Oliver (New York, NY) As I read these gorgeously written poems, I am observing these tough wildernesses or I am in ritual...
Read More »
AmorousWoman.jpg
Midwest Book Review reviews
The difference between pornography and erotic literature is the literary quality of the writing, how the subject matter of human sexuality is treated as simple (...
Read More »
Huntress_Cover1.jpg
Newsarama.com reviews
This issue is a very dense and intense retelling of Helena Bertinelli’s early childhood and it does not waste any time getting into the thick of things. Her family...
Read More »
Red Hot Tantra
Clean Sheets reviews
"Red Hot Tantra is not just full of theory about all those amazing stairways to heaven--it also contains twenty-two excellent erotic stories, one to go with each...
Read More »
ButAPassageInWilderness-cov.jpg
Amazon.com reviews
These are bardic poems, but not at all presumptuous or abstract. Berdeshevsky's earned them by her life fully lived, her compassion, and the music that makes them...
Read More »
Volume VI
Orlando Sentinel reviews
"Godot Arrives is the right kind of production for Fringe -- edgy and unusual, but it doesn't forget that good execution is important too."
Read More »
No One You Know
Publishers Weekly reviews
Richmond (The Year of Fog) returns to San Francisco for another enjoyable blend of mystery and domestic fiction...Vivid descriptions and loving explanations of the...
Read More »
gossip cover.jpg
Library Journal reviews
In fall 1984, best friends Catherine and Skye have quite a few things in common—wealthy New England roots, cocaine habits, and the distinction of being expelled...
Read More »
Chief Bender's Burden
The Boston Phoenix reviews
"Journalist Tom Swift has crafted a substantial, vivid story of one of the best pitchers of the game's early years. ... As we look forward to the 2008 campaign...
Read More »
Cover
Bing West reviews
"A raw, honest narrative by a young soldier thrust into an atmosphere that demanded care for the wounded, yet seemingly deprived of leaders who understood their...
Read More »
Cover
Front page of book reviews
"From traumatic injuries to anthrax shots, Michael Anthony has captured in intricate detail life in a combat zone operating room. As someone who's done two tours...
Read More »
Cover
Front page of book reviews
"Michael Anthony writes in the tradition of Joseph Heller and Richard Hooker, demystifying the theater of war and revealing our soldiers to be all-too-human...
Read More »
Our Farm: By the Animals of Farm Sanctuary
StarNews Online reviews
Your children will meet Maya the cow, J.D. the piglet, and Hilda the sheep among other animals that illustrate their unique personalities. The combination of verse...
Read More »
Cover USA.jpg
Examiner.com reviews
Remember Michael Crichton's The Terminal Man? A bit of mind-bending science mixed with some seriously intense scenes of blood and guts and horror? It worked like a...
Read More »
TIDhc.jpg
New York Times reviews
The individuals in Laura Glen Louis's ''Talking in the Dark'' may be Chinese-Americans new to the West Coast, but more than anything else they are characters for...
Read More »
TIDhc.jpg
Publishers Weekly reviews
In spare, refreshing prose, Louis writes of characters burned by love and searching for reprieve in this debut collection of eight short stories. Often peopled by...
Read More »
Mornings with Mailer.jpg
Esquire Magazine reviews
"It is perhaps surprising that a man and a writer as famously combative as Norman Mailer would inspire such a generous, loving and even tender portrait; but the...
Read More »
ALT Cover Small.jpg
Reviews by Jessewave reviews
All Lost Things provides a gritty mystery into which readers can really sink their teeth as well as be taken unawares by the twists and turns of the plot as it...
Read More »
The Story of Saint Catrick
Goodreads.com reviews
As one reads this book there are many different things that can come to one’s mind. When I first started reading the first thing I seen in the story line was a...
Read More »