where the writers are

Published Reviews

BLOOD SACRAMENTS
Icarus: The Magazine of Gay Speculative Fiction, Issue 10 reviews
'Nathan Burgoine's "Three" starts out in a bar, leads to a three-way that includes two virtually (im)mortal enemies...and just as the sex heats up, the author...
Read More »
ZaftanFrontLowRes.jpg
http://llbookreview.com/2011/10/review-240-zaftan-entrepreneurs-by-hank-quense/ reviews
  The LL Book Review site has posted a review on my novel.  In part it reads: Hank has managed to combine elements of politics and humor to...
Read More »
Globalization and the Demolition of Society.jpg
Publisher reviews
Reviews of Dennis Loo’s Globalization and the Demolition of Society   A brilliant exposition… compelling written and readily grasped, yet profound in its...
Read More »
Velva Jean Learns to Fly
Library Journal reviews
Fans of Velva Jean Learns To Drive, Niven's fictional debut, will welcome back the high-octane Velva Jean as she flees from her husband and North Carolina...
Read More »
Velva Jean Learns to Fly
Publishers Weekly reviews
Niven delivers another tale full of hope, heartbreak, and nostalgia in this sequel to Velva Jean Learns to Drive. Now in her twenties, at the dawn of World War...
Read More »
Velva Jean Learns to Fly
Association of Library Trustees, Advocates, Friends and Foundations reviews
During World War II, more than 1,000 women pilots ferried fighter jets and other military aircraft in a program started by Jacqueline Cochrane called Women...
Read More »
Velva Jean Learns to Fly
Southern Literary Review reviews
Velva Jean Learns to Fly By Jennifer Niven Reviewed by Philip K. Jason      Jennifer Niven won much praise and many readers with her first...
Read More »
Red Is Best
Toronto Star reviews
This Canadian classic, new in board book, gets to the heart of a preschooler’s joyous self-assertion. Succinct, poetic and convincing.
Read More »
Highway of Heroes
CM Magazine reviews
Put yourself in the mind of a young boy, caught up in the heartbreak of losing his soldier dad, and now facing the formal repatriation ceremony that begins at...
Read More »
highlandwolf_CVR5_selected.png
The Book Worm reviews
I absolutely LOVED this book...hence giving it 5 stars. I wish I could've gave it 10 stars. This book from the beginning to the end was Perfect. Terry Spear...
Read More »
Updated Cover
San Francisco Book Review reviews
Sleeper's RunBy Henry MosqueraOddity Media, LLC $8.99, 350 pages, Format: eBook $2.99 Star Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Eric Caine is a former Air Force pararescuer who...
Read More »
Hickory Wind: The Life and Times of Gram Parsons
New York Times reviews
Re: Gram Parsons: All this is quite a résumé for someone who didn't even live as long as Kurt Cobain, Jimi Hendrix or Jim Morrison. Parsons died from taking too...
Read More »
Incognito: Journey of a Secret Jew
San Antonio Express-News reviews
“. . . A richly textured story in which Alfonso and his family struggle to retain their values and traditions in the face of relentless and bloody persecution...
Read More »
Gilded Lili
Austin Chronicle reviews
DiNardo successfully reintroduces a largely forgotten star, recounting her unbelievable life. For burlesque fans and aficionados of cultural history, Gilded Lili:...
Read More »
the-long-descent.jpg
Seattle Peak Oil Awareness reviews
The Long Descent is one of the most highly anticipated peak oil books of the year, and it lives up to every ounce of hype. Greer is a captivating, brilliantly...
Read More »
THE BARFIGHTER
Publishers Weekly reviews
Goldman (Where the Money Is) brings to life the sleazy underbelly of professional boxing in the 1980s, where double crosses, thievery and cheating were commonplace...
Read More »
Summertime Rainbow Jacket Art
Publisher's Weekly reviews
  Children's Summertime Rainbow: A Bilingual Book of Colors Belle Yang. Candlewick, $6.99 (24p) ISBN 978-0-7636-5280-7  Three pudgy gouache rabbits...
Read More »
fallaway.JPG
New York Times reviews
The stories in Michelle Richmond’s first collection spin artfully off the life of a single character…smart and adept.
Read More »
Barbed-Wire Butterflies by Jessica Kristie
Huffington Post reviews
On first glance, Jessica Kristie's debut novel has a distinct Dickens' like narrative: Kidnapped pre-teen children living out a meager existence as slave labor of...
Read More »
The Last Queen
Book Bitch reviews
Gortner’s passion for his subject is quite evident and it seems that after six years of research, he has uncovered enough evidence to support his belief that Juana...
Read More »