where the writers are

New Books

Dating for Dads. The Single Father's Guide to Dating Well without Parenting Poorly
As a single father, you're ready to begin dating again. But are your kids ready? In this much-needed guide, relationship expert Ellie Slott Fisher comes to the...
More about this book »
timeandtheartofliving.jpg
Three hundred sixty-six meditations on time. Called "a classic" by Richard Selzer, Time & the Art of Living has been widely referenced. It was 25...
More about this book »
DIALOGUE.gif
On Dialogue states and supports the thesis that dialogue and dialogic thinking are the most radical forms of free thought.
More about this book »
attack.jpg
Attack of the Man-Eating Lotus Blossoms is a collection of these performance art texts, along with documents and scripts, that represent Chin’s performance work...
More about this book »
Penguin cover, 1993
Adam Snell, English Professor at the University of Washagon, has disappeared, and somebody is trying to destroy the extant copies of his book.
More about this book »
The Best American Short Stories 1994
Editors Tobias Wolff and Katrina Kenison selected twenty-one stories for this volume of the well-known series.
More about this book »
Best New American Voices 2000
Culled from over one hundred prestigious writing programs around the United States and Canada, Best New American Voices 2000 offers a remarkable panoply of writing...
More about this book »
AV.JPG
Defining vulgarity as any action that is at once ignorant, popular and harmful, American Vulgar runs the gamut of American culture from Fast Foods to NPR, exploring...
More about this book »
TMAT.jpg
A blockbuster adventure tale in the tradition of Rabelais, Cervantes and Swift.
More about this book »
Fobbit.jpg
Fobbit \’fä-bit\, noun. Definition: A U.S. soldier stationed at a Forward Operating Base who avoids combat by remaining at the base, esp. during Operation Iraqi...
More about this book »
Marilyn Monroe is one of the most iconic figures in the history of Hollywood, and her legendary work on the big screen is eclipsed only perhaps by the lengend of...
More about this book »
Little Jane and the Nameless Isle
Only two people have ever survived a trip to the Nameless Isle: Long John Silver the Second and Bonnie Mary Bright, the parents of aspiring pirate Little Jane...
More about this book »
composite_8_small.jpg
The adventures of a young American woman living in a Tokyo Gaijin house.    
More about this book »
Why Mommy Loves the State - cover
Mommy didn't always love the state. First she had to learn about what it was and what it could do for her. Read all about Mommy's fun adventures with government and...
More about this book »
Why Peace cover art.jpg
"Who doesn't want peace?" you might ask yourself. But look around you: War and human rights violations are everywhere. Fear is a dominant cultural bond. Meanwhile,...
More about this book »
Leaving Everything Most Loved.jpg
In Leaving Everything Most Loved by New York Times bestselling author Jacqueline Winspear, Maisie Dobbs investigates the murder of Indian immigrants in London....
More about this book »
cover-occult guide_r2.jpg
John Wilcock, traveller, occultist extraordinaire, author of more than thirty travel guides, and editor of the Witches Almanack, has compiled a comprehensive guide...
More about this book »
A truck driver with the I.Q. of a child drives his empty rig up and down the Interstate as an homage to his dead mother ("Deadheading"), two convicts seek...
More about this book »
Revenge.jpg
On a hot, humid morning in May 1545, a joint conversion brigade of the Portuguese King and the Pope set out to spread Christ’s message of love and compassion, but...
More about this book »