where the writers are

New Books

imageDB.cgi_3.jpeg
A gracefully disconcerting collection of stories by the winner of the 2005 Narrative Prize. Wavering between fidelity and freedom, the women in this sparkling...
More about this book »
imageDB.cgi_2.jpeg
Responding to America's love affair with the short-short, editors Robert Shapard and James Thomas searched thousands of books and magazines to select these sixty...
More about this book »
imageDB.cgi.jpeg
Now, in Cast of Characters and Other Stories, the fifth installment of the series, Sonny Brewer has selected a new crop of fiction promising to satisfy even the...
More about this book »
Help Me Live: 20 Things People with Cancer Want You to Know
When we hear that someone close to us has been diagnosed with cancer, we want nothing more than to comfort them with words of hope, support, and love. But sometimes...
More about this book »
 Samsara
Eighteen poems depicting Indian life
More about this book »
The Gilda Stories
The Gilda Stories is a senusal feminist adventure following the life of an escaped slave who learns the power of life over death.  The novel overturns tradtional...
More about this book »
goblinhero.jpg
All Jig wants to do is worship his forgotten god, hang out with his pet fire-spider, and heal humiliating goblin injuries. But Kralk, the goblin chief, sees Jig as...
More about this book »
goblinquest.jpg
Made to stand tunnel watch by the goblin bullies who'd been assigned the job, it was just Jig's luck to be taken captive by a group of adventurers--with the usual...
More about this book »
Gravities of Center
Contained in this collection are poems and prose pieces which exhibit Barbara’s oftentimes eclectic style / sensibilities and...
More about this book »
Tatiana Proskouriakoff: Interpreting the Ancient Maya
This biography of a 20th century pioneering woman archaeologist gives an intimate look at the challenges and the emotional toll of rising to the top of a male-...
More about this book »
The Women.jpg
From "America's most imaginative contemporary novelist" (Newsweek), a novel of Frank Lloyd Wright and the women in his life. Having brought to life eccentric...
More about this book »
Wild Child.jpg
Wild Child is my ninth collection of short stories, published by Viking in January of 2010. It contains fourteen new stories, including the novella-length title...
More about this book »
In One Person.jpg
His most political novel since The Cider House Rules and A Prayer for Owen Meany, John Irving’s In One Person is an intimate and unforgettable portrait...
More about this book »
Applying Mathematics to Construction.JPG
Williams’ formulae, factors and accurate shorts were first used to help his students, but then the author saw that many professional construction workers also...
More about this book »
The Shogun's Scroll
In the tradition of The Art of War and The Book of Five Rings, Stephen Kaufman's The Shogun's Scroll offers timeless advice on success in war and life. Written in...
More about this book »
Suspended Heart cover
In an explosion of love's metaphors, Fowler's debut collection of stories, SUSPENDED HEART, takes on American fabulism with a cast of unexpected heroines in the...
More about this book »
white heart.jpg
A woman's power lies in her beauty. For years, Blanche de Castille, the White Queen of France, has lived by this maxim—passed on by her grandmother, Eléonore d...
More about this book »
itpofocover.jpg
Jonah and his younger brother, Simon, are on their own. All they have left in the world is ten dollars, a backpack full of dirty clothes, and a stack of letters...
More about this book »
The Marbury Lens
It’s a place worse than Hell. And Jack keeps going back to it. He can’t help himself. Nobody can. Jack has his reasons. He has his doubts, too. See for yourself....
More about this book »
Stick
Stark McClellan (“Stick”) hears the world in a different way. He is surrounded by cruelty and ugliness, but holds on to a powerful sense of wonder, faith, and...
More about this book »