where the writers are

New Books

Storytime Discoveries - Biological Science
This collection of original stories, folktales and poems are bound to boggle the mind, tickle the funny bone and please the participants. A delightful blend of...
More about this book »
Storytime Discoveries - Earth Science
Science and storytelling are a class combination that mix well. As students become engrossed in this collection of original stories, folktalkes and poems, they'll...
More about this book »
Storytime Discoveries - Physical Science
Be a Houdini in your classroom! Mesmerize your students with science experiments that appear like magic from the content of original stories, folktales and poems....
More about this book »
9780969485339_cov.jpg
It's a supernatural mystery, shweetheart AND a loving homage to film noir and pulp fiction, a tip of the hat to the likes of H.P. Lovecraft, Val Lewton and Raymond...
More about this book »
"Righteous Blood" by Cliff Burns
Two novellas (long short stories) on the theme of evil in our society. These are not simple moral fables, but multi-layered and intensive investigations into the...
More about this book »
"The Reality Machine" by Cliff Burns
A collection of short stories with a strong bent for the surreal. Compared to the likes of Jorge Luis Borges and William S. Burroughs, The Reality Machine is...
More about this book »
Aesop's Opposites - Interactive Aesop Fables
Tired of the same old Aesop? Here's a new twist on the classroom favorites. Aesop's Opposites combines the age-old teachings with the concept of opposites. And to...
More about this book »
The Ghost of Shady Lane
Creepy, run down, and possibly haunted, "The Boogerman House" becomes the object of Anne's fascination as she researches this historic landmark for a...
More about this book »
The Burning Pendulum
Juniper had no idea that donating her favorite books-a series about psychic teenagers solving mysteries-to the school library would result in a heated protest that...
More about this book »
Mirror, Mirror
This exuberant, sixth installment of the Fortune Teller's Club Series focuses on Gena, the wise-cracking tomboy of their group. She needs to buy a fancy dress for a...
More about this book »
Chicken Soup for the Soul: My Dog's Life
It's a dog's life. From puppyhood antics to the twilight years and saying goodbye, this collection os 101 heartwarming and inspiring stories focuses on all the...
More about this book »
4t.jpg
With over 100 dogmatic but discerning guidelines for doggy decorum, this humorous etiquette book is intended to refine even the most nonpedigreed Pug or churlish...
More about this book »
6t.jpg
More than 300 illustrations and step-by-step instructions take dog lovers and crafters through 50 easy-to-do projects starring your dog. This book shows you how to...
More about this book »
Silver Sparrow paperback.jpg
With the opening line of Silver Sparrow, "My father, James Witherspoon, is a bigamist," author Tayari Jones unveils a breathtaking story about a man's deception,...
More about this book »
From Boys to Men.JPG
More than an anthology of coming out stories, From Boys to Men is a stunning collection of essays about what it is like to be gay and young, to be different and be...
More about this book »
51a6dwTUBJL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
Everyone has something, someone, somewhere else that they’d rather be. For four high-school seniors, their goals of perfection are just as different as the paths...
More about this book »
61B0f-vJRAL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
In this darkly comical look at the sinister side of our relationship with the natural world, Stewart has tracked down over one hundred of our worst entomological...
More about this book »
41xzxT9VobL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
For readers of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low, a fascinating memoir of an extraordinarily influential American family, from the celebrated author of True Confections,...
More about this book »
Remember Love, by Stacie Kerschner
Remember Love is a bedtime story that is sure to inspire sweet dreams.  The strength behind nature and its creatures is woven with a parent's deepest wishes in a...
More about this book »