where the writers are

New Books

Most Outrageous:  The Trials and Trespasses of Dwaine Tinsley and Chester the Molester
As cartoon editor and chief cartoonist for HUSTLER magazine, Dwaine's Tinsley's most notable creation was Chester the Molester, a monthly gag cartoon about a...
More about this book »
The Best Ride to New York
An existential sports novel, in the tradition of THE HUSTLER and FAT CITY, about a minor league basketball player in western Pennsylvania.
More about this book »
Fully Armed
The story of a relationship between Bob Levin, a workers' compensation lawyer in Berkeley, and Jimmy Don Polk, a disabled, homeless, pan handler. Parts are true...
More about this book »
Outlaws, Rebels, Freethinkers, Pirates & Pornographers
Explores the byways and back roads of creative genius in as off-beat a collection of characters this side of a carnival midway.
More about this book »
Shelby
Shelby is the tale of a shy lemon shark who wishes more than anything to make a friend without scaring them to death first with her teeth. Bounce with ballyhoos and...
More about this book »
The Pirates and the Mouse:  Disney's War Against the Counterculture
In 1971, the San Francisco-based cartoonist Dan O'Neill decided that his contribution to the cultural revolution would be the destruction of Walt Disney. With a...
More about this book »
OFF THE RECORD: The Press, the Government, and the War over Anonymous Sources
Confidentiality has become a weapon in the White House’s war on the press, a war fought with the unwitting complicity of the press itself. In this hard-hitting...
More about this book »
THE AUTHOR (a two-volume set)
Carefully wending his way up the Eastern seaboard, Malcolm Columba is not your garden variety serial killer.  When two dissimilar murders occur on Long Island,...
More about this book »
THE TEACHER
The American intelligence community is retooling, and so is the way in which Suffolk County’s commanding officer of homicide, Detective Lieutenant Theodore Groche,...
More about this book »
Mommy-210-exp.jpg
A Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist implodes the myth of the dumbed-down mom, offering startling scientific evidence that motherhood gives women unexpected mental...
More about this book »
buzzy.jpg
A hilarious and heartrending account of one mother's journey to understand and reconnect with her high-spirited preteen son--a true story sure to beguile parents...
More about this book »
Destiny's Dream
Is a little respect too much to ask at a funeral? Apparently it is for Destiny May. Clay Gallagher is built like a small mountain and far more vocal than is fitting...
More about this book »
Goldeneyes
A man's eyes are the windows to his soul...if he has one. Deep in the darkness of a Depression-era night, a man addicted to alcohol sells something precious to...
More about this book »
Yesterday's Promise
A whirlwind romance amidst the natural splendor of Yosemite National Park. A spur-of-the-moment wedding. A young bride who awakens the morning after to find her new...
More about this book »
Imelda-210.jpg
From Publishers Weekly The former first lady of the Philippines has become an icon of popular ridicule since the 1986 People Power revolution brought an end...
More about this book »
Economy_sm-330.jpg
Through engaging stories from around the world, the authors introduce readers to a diverse group of people who are pioneering new approaches to conservation....
More about this book »
Mine!
Amanda’s not good at sharing, and is mean to her friend, Ellie. But with the help of a baby doll, a stuffed teddy bear, and a forgiving guest, one little girl finds...
More about this book »
Island Girl
There are people who want nothing more than to forget about their family. All Ruby wants is to remember. Ruby Donaldson knows she's in trouble. She's been diagnosed...
More about this book »