where the writers are

New Books

I Draw Roses
                               I Draw Roses: a Fable. An artist sits in his London...
More about this book »
Listed as one of the Best Poetry Books of 2013 by the Barnes & Noble Review, this collection of poems explores the many ways poetry and art intersect. It...
More about this book »
Flyover Lives
From the New York Times bestselling author of Le Divorce, a dazzling meditation on the mysteries of the “wispy but material” family ghosts who shape us Growing up...
More about this book »
I Even Funnier
In this follow up to the #1 New York Times bestseller I Funny, middle schooler Jamie Grimm has big dreams of being the best stand-up comic in the world--and he...
More about this book »
Wise Young Fool
Teen rocker Ritchie Sudden is pretty sure his life has just jumped the shark. Except he hates being called a teen, his band doesn't play rock, and "jumping the...
More about this book »
The Conjurer and Other Azorean Tales
Born from the fertile volcanic soil and the sea and mists surrounding the Azorean islands, the characters who inhabit these stories blend realism with magic. Like...
More about this book »
Seventh Gate - final cover.jpg
The North American paperback of my novel THE SEVENTH GATE has just come out. Here's the review from Publishers Weekly:    "Zimler (The Last Kabbalist of...
More about this book »
The Gypsy Goddess
Tamil Nadu, 1968. Village landlords rule over a feudal system that forces peasants to break their backs in the fields or suffer beatings as punishment. In the...
More about this book »
Southern as a Second Language
Not only do Southerners talk slowly, but sometimes the whole language is hard to understand. No one realizes that more than Memphis belle Leelee Satterfield....
More about this book »
Golden State
Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jacquelyn Mitchard, and Anna Quindlen, Golden State is a powerful, mesmerizing new novel that explores the intricacies of...
More about this book »
I Shall Not Be Moved: Poems
In her first book of poetry since Why Don't You Sing? Maya Angelou, bestselling author of the classic autobiography I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings, writes with...
More about this book »
My Painted House, My Friendly Chicken and Me
“Hello, Stranger-Friend” begins Maya Angelou's story about Thandi, a South African Ndebele girl, her mischievous brother, her beloved chicken, and the astonishing...
More about this book »
Singin' and Swingin' and Gettin' Merry like Christmas
Here Maya Angelou, dazzling entertainer, casts the spotlight on her show business career—a pageant of international scope. Maya, the woman, shares her sad,...
More about this book »
Jesus Freaks
In January 2005, Ricky Rodriguez stabbed a woman to death and then fled the scene of the crime, finally shooting himself in the California desert. Rodriguez was a...
More about this book »
Shopping for Faith: American Religion in the New Millennium
In Shopping for Faith: American Religion in the New Millennium, Richard Cimino and Don Lattin identify the trends shaping American religion. They bring together the...
More about this book »
Doubletakes: Pairs of Contemporary Short Stories
Selected by celebrated author and professor T. Coraghessan Boyle, Doubletakes: Pairs of Contemporary Short Stories gives students the opportunity to enjoy, through...
More about this book »
Haroun and the Sea of Stories
Set in an exotic Eastern landscape peopled by magicians and fantastic talking animals, Salman Rushdie’s classic children’s novel Haroun and the Sea of Stories...
More about this book »
Moor's Last Sigh
The Moor evokes his family's often grotesque but compulsively moving fortunes and the lost world of possibilities embodied by India in this century. His is a tale...
More about this book »
The Latke Who Couldn't Stop Screaming: A Christmas Story
Latkes are potato pancakes served at Hanukkah. Lemony Snicket is an alleged children’s book author. Lisa Brown is an alleged illustrator. For the first time in...
More about this book »
The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 2)
Within the pages of this novel, readers will discover one of the books upon which the movie Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events is based: The Reptile...
More about this book »