where the writers are

Member Reviews

dana-mills's picture
Dana Mills talks about
A powerful novel on a milestone in history that forever haunted the Armenian people, on how much is held back and how much is passed on to future generations. Chris Bohjalian is an outstanding story-...
Read more »
dana-mills's picture
Dana Mills talks about
I cannot imagine Hosseini writing anything that is not intensely moving. In 'And the Mountains Echoed', a single decision determines the lives of many for generations to come. While some are...
Read more »
dana-mills's picture
Dana Mills talks about
A beautiful enchanting novel recounted in the oral tradition of storytelling. The reader is immediately intoxicated by the colourful and fragrant world of seventeenth-century Isfahan and enraptured...
Read more »
nate-briggs's picture
Nate Briggs talks about
A compelling, and very readable, book set in 16th Century Persia. The tale is told from the point of view of a eunuch in the house of the current Shah's daughter: meaning that the author is doing...
Read more »
john-fitzpatrick's picture
John Fitzpatrick talks about
Catherine Nagle writes in her book the choice she had at an early age of extreme tragedy. She had a choice to follow the road of bitterness or the road, which she chose, the road with God's love...
Read more »
harriet-scott-chessman's picture
The audacity of this title captures the courage and vision of this stunning book: how can there BE love, after Auschwitz, a reader might wonder? Can Auschwitz and love be contained in the same...
Read more »
nathan-burgoine's picture
'Nathan Burgoine talks about
Jeffrey Ricker is like my "writing big brother." My first publication was in the same book as his second, and we've often been in the same anthologies. When I find one of his stories in a...
Read more »
brenda-webster's picture
Brenda Webster talks about
Laura Albert’s Sarah, written as JT Le Roy is a tour de force. Truly an unusual book. Sometimes offensive, often hilarious and always passionate. In an interview on the Moth, Laura Albert said that...
Read more »
jane-wilson's picture
Jane Wilson talks about
There are many facets to this little gem of a novel.  The Wednesday Daughters are members of an extraordinary extended family, whose lives have been intricately interwoven.  Their...
Read more »
jane-wilson's picture
Jane Wilson talks about
Ida Mae is so passionate about her work as a filmmaker, her intensity lands her in the hospital after a heart attack.  Lisa, Ida Mae's mirror image twin, lives a perfect life with a perfect...
Read more »
nina-schuyler's picture
Nina Schuyler talks about
**A finalist for the 24th Annual Northern California Book Award** Praise for The Painting “Nina Schuyler is one of those writers who can make you skip dessert so you can get back to your book. She...
Read more »
mary-walsh's picture
Mary Walsh talks about
Catherine Nagle is a writer who I first became aquainted in Red Room. Her presence is always enlightening in that she conveys through her creative talent and her daily living that she “gets...
Read more »
samina-ali's picture
Samina Ali talks about
"As the first Indian Muslim woman fiction writer to be published in America, Samina Ali has unveiled a distinct voice that reflects the conflict faced by immigrants belonging to dual cultures ... A...
Read more »
yemi-elegunde's picture
Yemi Elegunde talks about
5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing book.. 21 Aug 2012 By Oliver King Format:Paperback|Amazon Verified Purchase I found this book to be a truely inspiring read, re-affirming how powerful and strong the...
Read more »
frank-sanello's picture
Frank Sanello talks about
from HubPagesA Brilliant New Look at the Private Life and Perversions of Adolf Hitlerby Christopher Antony Meade United Kingdom Hub AuthorFinally a great novel of the twenty first century and about...
Read more »
william-poy-lee's picture
William Poy Lee talks about
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY - earning a rare Red Star Review “In this remarkable memoir, mother and son tell their story, in alternating chapters, of their life. Fans of Amy Tan and Maxine Hong Kingston...
Read more »
leighton-d-gage's picture
Leighton D Gage talks about
Yup! That's what the New York Times said. In their review of "Every Bitter Thing" they called my Chief Inspector Mario Silva "irresisible".
Read more »
marie-davis's picture
Marie Davis talks about
Hey Diddle Diddle -- that certainly seems like a familiar nursery ryme, one whose derivations are lost to antiquity -- although some sources claim it's tied to an Elizabethain scandal, or Richar III'...
Read more »
jennifer-kathleen-gibbons's picture
On Twitter yesterday they announced that Bastard Out of Carolina is celebrating its 20th anniversary today. Twenty years! It’s a book that still stands out today. This is an essay I wrote about...
Read more »
former member's picture
former member talks about
I really loved his first book "The Kite Runner." After reading "A Thousand Splendid Suns" I only liked his first book compared to how much joy and love I have for his second book. The two main female...
Read more »