where the writers are

kathryn stockett | kathryn stockett

bernice-l-mcfadden's picture
Apr.03.2012
I will start by saying that as of late - I only check the mailbox after I see the mail spilling out of it. Why? Well it's a habit that develops overtime when the postman stops bringing checks and only delivers bills, final notices and clothing catalogues that you are no longer able to purchase from...
jm-cornwell's picture
Jan.04.2012
Yesterday, I received a newsletter from Powell's Books to choose the best of 2011. There's a lot of that going around -- choosing the best of the previous year now that we are firmly ensconced in the new year. I decided to play along. After all, $250 in books is going to save me at least $250 in...
roy-haney's picture
Sep.10.2011
THE HELP Reflections by Roy E. Haney   It was the Labor Day weekend and my son’s godmother was spending the weekend visiting. My wife had   finished reading THE HELP and was anxious to see the movie. I had seen promotions advertising the film and it looked like it was going to be a...
bernice-l-mcfadden's picture
Aug.31.2011
So I went to see The Help a few weeks ago. You know that movie based on the book of the same name – which by the way has been on the New York Times bestsellers list for two years.   Now, for the record, I did not (could not bring myself) to read the book. And not because it was written by a...
jeanne-powell's picture
Aug.12.2011
THE HELP a film review by Jeanne Powell Tate Taylor is another actor turned director, in the tradition of Warren Beatty and Robert Redford, and he gets it right in his first major film, “The Help,” starring Emma Stone, Viola Davis and Octavia Spencer, with special appearances by Sissy Spacek...
nancybrady's picture
Aug.31.2010
Although the "project" (aka the new (old) house renovation) is winding down, I still found some time to read and work on my New Year's resolution to read more books this year.  Actually, this is probably the only resolution that I could continue this long because it is something I really...
bernice-l-mcfadden's picture
Jun.28.2010
That was the original title of the op-ed piece which I wrote some months back and pitched to The Washington Post, which was gracious enough to publishunder their chosen title: "Black Writers in the Ghetto of the Publishing Industry's Making" Kathryn Stockett's novel The Help, published by...
bernice-l-mcfadden's picture
Mar.17.2010
Disclaimer: This is not an attack on the authors of the books that will me mentioned here today, this is an attack on the system that has propelled said books into the literary and cinematic spotlights.  (Clearing throat) “Until the Lions have their own historians, tales of the hunt will always...
bernice-l-mcfadden's picture
Feb.14.2010
*Big Sigh* I have been squawking, screaming and squealing for months about Seg-Book-Gation and the importance of diversity in reading, and in doing so I have hit some walls, but I have also made some breakthroughs. The most recent "wall" (walls and obstacles are only stair steps to...
bernice-l-mcfadden's picture
Jan.28.2010
The other night I was up watching a re-run of  The Dave Chappelle Show and the opening skit resonated with me so much so, that even though I was drifting off to sleep I popped right up to fully take in the message which represented what it is we African American writers have been complaining about...